Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Best Friends

As usual, I checked in with Yahoo! news this morning. I was very touched by the letter written by Jack Pinto’s friend John. Link

Yeah, I was crying at my desk. The thing that struck a nerve (beyond the touching sentiment) was the picture:

jack_pinto

It reminded me of my own best friend who I’ve known since I was five.

I am lucky enough to still have her as one of my best girlfriends and we still see each other at least a few times a year. I take these get togethers for granted because it feels like we’ll get to keep seeing each other forever.

As we were harshly reminded of this week, there is no forever and each day is precious.

I’m not going to preach about how we should live our lives.  I’m just really sad these two little guys will never have the opportunity to grow up together.

Towels

I sincerely hope that we can move forward as a society to a place where mentally ill people don’t choose to kill others before committing suicide. Our citizens and children do not need to be part of some sicko’s own personal reality TV.

My apologies if any of this offends. The slaughter of innocent children really pisses me off.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Best Friends

  1. I’m so glad I thought to check your blog today! The Savannah trip was the last one I had read. Again, PLEASE never stop writing – you have such a gift. I am so touched and so blessed to have had you in my life all these years and look forward to years of experiences and conversations ahead, my BFF! (And I truly mean BFF because it’s come too beyond cliche!) Oh, and I don’t know why ANYONE would be offended by what you wrote about best friends and the sorrow all those children left behind are feeling for their friends. Again, please keep writing woman! 🙂

Leave a comment