Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Inspiring Words From My Daughter

For my 200th post, I am happy to share the spotlight with one of my three beautiful daughters. Hannah, who is fourteen, is struggling with negative feelings even though she’s doing great at her new high school, making new friends and getting a lot of encouragement from her teachers.

Sometimes she just feels overcome by the negative thoughts that fill her head and it’s hard for her to feel any joy or happiness because she can’t break through the barrier of negativity.

I worried that she may have to deal with mean girls and bullying in high school. It never occurred to me that her worst opponent would be herself.

Here is the message of hope that she shared with me last night:

Remember to Live, Laugh,

Hug, Kiss, Share,

Love, Explore, Dream Better Dreams,

Because You’re Worth It.

I have confidence that with the guidance of a therapist, we can help Hannah find the strength to work through the negative thoughts and assist her in feeling more powerful and balanced. It was hard for me to admit that we need outside help (although I have always commended others for seeking therapy) to work through Hannah’s unhappiness, but if she comes away from therapy with a more positive sense of who she is and has a better feel for her value, that’s all I can hope for.

To be perfectly honest, it was a struggle for me to accept that my daughter needed therapy. In my mind it was a sort of failure, like I was such a poor mother that my kid was screwed up because of me. It’s been a running joke at my house that one or all of our children would at one point wind up on Oprah bemoaning their parents. It’s not so funny now.

I’ve come to the realization that attending to one’s mental health is just as crucial as regular medical check-ups. Up to this point my philosophy regarding mental health was “Just suck it up and make up your mind to be happy and sooner or later you will be.” Obviously that’s not a healthy approach in the long run and it’s better to seek therapy.

I am looking forward to 2012 being the year that Hannah gets the attention that she needs to feel better. She is a truly wonderful person with many talents including a great sense of humor and a fabulous writing ability. All I want for Hannah is for her to be happy.

Here’s wishing you a happy holiday season. Remember that we can all make a difference in people’s lives by offering to reach out and help them. You may even save someone’s life.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

