Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Black Bean Hummus & Hotdogs

While hubby and I were away at the Hyatt, we had some truly delicious meals. On the night we dined on hors d’oeuvres we had a yummy black bean hummus with pico de gallo and guacamole served with tortilla chips.

Needless to say, I was inspired. I had nothing planned for dinner yesterday, but knew I had some frozen burgers in the house. I decided to pick up hotdogs and buns. While I was at the grocery store anyway, I also got a can of black beans, tahini and a jar of peeled garlic and went home to throw a little something interesting together.

I found a recipe on line, got out my darling little red food processor and started to puree. We were very pleased with the results. I think I’m going to try my hand at pico de gallo next. The ingredients seem pretty simple, but I’m going to need much more prep time since there will be a lot of chopping.

Below are the recipes:

Black Bean Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans; drain and reserve liquid
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika

Directions

Mince garlic in the bowl of a food processor. Add black beans, 2 tablespoons reserved liquid, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, tahini, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper; process until smooth, scraping down the sides as needed. Add additional seasoning and liquid to taste. Garnish with paprika.

Pico De Gallo

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups seeded, diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1 tablespoon diced jalapenos
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro, plus extra for garnish
  • Salt
  • Green onion, finely chopped

Mix all the ingredients together, chill for one hour and serve with tortilla chips.

As you can imagine, I was pretty fragrant this morning after all that garlic and the yellow onions on my grilled dogs. Oh well, I’ll just chew a lot of gum and stay away from people.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

