Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Choosing To Be Happy

Happy New Year! Welcome to 2011.

Whether or not this year will be a happy one for you will depend on many things, but your outlook will be an important factor in how good (or bad) it is.

Happiness and optimism are states of mind. Embracing these outlooks make the downturns in life bearable. When things don’t go exactly as planned or go down the toilet altogether, being positive is the best way to turn things around.

My daughter Hannah and I struggle with this philosophy on a regular basis. For her, it’s easier to fall into a defeated state, even about small stuff. I thrash about why I am not progressing fast enough (or at all) with my personal goals and aspirations. The thing is, it’s easier to throw up your hands in despair than to pull yourself up by your bootstraps and try again. It’s the path of least resistance and a darned bad habit.

I think I’ve gotten better about handling my own setbacks because of these pep talks with Hannah. I can’t very well sit back and feel sorry for myself when I’ve just had an hour long talk with my daughter about turning her attitude around.

Being happy is a choice. It takes a conscious effort to stay happy during tough times. The great thing about staying positive is that once you’ve worked through all the tough stuff, you feel a whole lot better about yourself simply because you persevered and worked through the problem. It’s a whole lot better than wallowing in misery and moping about the awful state of affairs.

I don’t care for old trite sayings, but “Winners never quit, and quitters never win.” is true. The thing about winners is that they never defeat themselves by giving up when things get difficult. Winners also understand that even if they get off track once in a while, beating themselves up over it will not help them to achieve their goals.

Hannah and I are going to keep working on our positive outlooks. We’re going to focus on being happy even though everything doesn’t always work out the way we had planned. 2011 is going to be a happy year because we’re going to work at, not just because things worked out to our advantage.

I hope you’ll join us!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

