Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Holiday Eating – Out of Control

I have been eating since Thanksgiving. Non-stop. There have been literally surrounded by food since Turkey day.

We’ve had two potlucks at work. My husband’s company’s holiday party is always arrayed with many varieties of food which is supplied in abundance. Funerals, lunches, big dinners at home have all added up to me being completely and thoroughly disgusted with myself. I have vowed repeatedly that I will never eat again. Usually within a half an hour I will break my vow to nibble on something tempting nearby…even when I’m not hungry.

I think I need to go off on some sort of cleansing dream-quest for a week and clear all this rich food out of my system and get back to more responsible eating. I fear I am in danger of morphing into Jabba the Hut. If you hear about a strange and unexplained sonic boom in the Mid-Atlantic region of the country, there is no need for you to worry – it’s just me rapidly expanding.

The last 24 hours is a perfect example. I had a lovely blue cheese lettuce wedge (generously sized) for lunch yesterday. Last night we had a scrumptious standing rib roast with asparagus and baked potatoes with sour cream and butter. It was delicious and I ate hugely. The only relief I got for my distended belly was that it did take some energy to clean up properly after all that. This morning I had not one, but two breakfasts – a cinnamon chip monster muffin at 7 and scrambled eggs and bacon at 10.

I think I need to completely swear off eating before our food packed holiday at my sister-in-law’s house (complete with heavy appetizers and dessert).

Back to the rib roast – if you have never tried this cut of beef, it is a delectable revelation and not difficult to prepare. You just slam it into a baking dish, sear it at 450 degrees for 15 minutes before turning down the oven to 325 and using a meat thermometer to help get the correct internal temperature for your doneness preference (ours was medium rare). There is no turning, basting or handling the meat other than monitoring the thermometer. You do have to let it sit for an additional half an hour after you pull it out of the oven, but you can use this time to finish off  your side dishes. It comes out tender, juicy and flavorful. Yum! These also usually are available on sale around Christmas and Easter so you can stock up on them at a reasonable price, freeze ‘em and enjoy them throughout the year. Do try this at least once. You’ll love it.

We saved the rib bones for this morning so that the dogs would have something to keep them busy while we opened gifts. They are still happily gnawing away on them.

As far as asparagus goes, I’m not complaining or anything, but it’s been remarkably cheap lately. I bought three big bunches for our family dinner and it cost $1.99 a pound. Usually it’s not sold this low until around Easter time, but we’ve had it for the last few weeks at the sale price. I’m not sure if there is a new country growing and supplying produce to the American market or if a hardier variety has been created. Whatever the reason, we’ve been enjoying our delicious green buds often (and rushing to get away from the bathroom afterwards).

Fasting will not be as fun as all this eating, but something’s gotta give. I’m hoping for some meaningful revelations while I walk in the spirit world!

Have a wonderful Christmas!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

