Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Therapeutic Baking

On Monday morning I made a dump cake. I needed to do something……I don’t know, healing. I’ve been doing a lot of cooking for others lately so I thought it would be nice to make something for my family.

Dump cake is remarkably tasty (especially topped with ice cream) and easy to make. If you’ve never had it, I suggest you run right out and get the few (4) ingredients you need post haste and make yourself some.

Here’s what you do:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Take 1 can of crushed pineapple and spread it evenly on the bottom of a greased 11×17 baking dish.

Take 1 can of pie filling (cherry & blueberry are my favorite, but it’s your dessert, do what you want) and spread that evenly over top of the pineapple.

Open up 1 box of yellow cake mix and pour that evenly over the top of your fruit (smooth it with a fork if you need to).

Take 1 stick of butter, cut it up into thin slices and place it evenly over the top of the cake mix.

Bake for 1 hour.

Serve warm with ice cream. Yum!

When I was making this on Monday, it had been a long while since I’d made this recipe and I was pretty distracted. This was a therapeutic dump cake after all. I forgot all about the pineapple until I looked it up on line. Now you know as well as I do that once you’ve got the pie filling, cake mix and butter in the pan, there’s no way to go back underneath to add the pineapple. I just poured the pineapple on top of what I’d already added, shoved it in the oven and went off to take my shower.

It turned out lovely in spite of my mistake; golden brown and bubbly.

I should mention that the recipe I looked up on line said that you could add nuts to this recipe. If that floats your boat, go for it. I think walnuts or pecans would be a wonderful addition for you nut eating folks. Now, the online recipe also said 2 sticks of butter. Unless you’re hurting for a heart attack, one stick will do you just fine.

One final word, if you’ve had a bad day or just need to do something to boost your mood, a little cooking project is a great way to redirect your frame of mind. Do not stick your face down into the finished product and eat it all by your lonesome – that’s wallowing and does you no good at all. Do round up some friends, family or co-workers and share what you’ve made. You’ll feel a whole lot better.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

