Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Happy (Almost) Birthday To Me!!!

As Fiona Apple once sang “I’ve been a bad, bad girl.” I watched zero Meryl movies over the weekend and went on a shopping orgy with my daughters in one of my Danger Zones – Marshall’s. The original plan was to buy new queen sheets for my older daughter’s new bed, but she had run out and gotten a set at Target (another danger zone) earlier in the day. We’d already planned the trip, so off we went.

Purses & Bedding & Shoes! Oh My! We found a bunch of things we liked and I went through checkout with our stuff and took it out to the car while the girls continued to shop. I had seen a beautiful cow hide purse amongst all the other leather, pleather and plastic bags, but it was terribly impractical and more than I wanted to spend………but I kept thinking about it and thinking about it and thinking about it.

I’d never seen anything like it in any of the stores I’d regularly shop in and what were the odds that I’d ever find another one as spectacular as the one in Marshall’s? It was made of Italian leather and very good quality. And it was soooooo COOL!!!

But what would be my justification? Buying something so over the top is not my style and it is certainly not a purse I would carry every day (it’s actually more the size of a weekend bag). But it’s cool!  Hey wait! I’ve got a birthday next week and this could be a fabulous gift to present to myself! Sold!

I’m sure my internal argument was very similar to the one in “Confessions of a Shopaholic” – The point about this purse it would become part of a definition of your psyche! Do you see what I mean? No, I do. Keep talking. It would make your eyes look bigger. Mmm…It would make my haircut look more expensive! You’d wear it with everything! It would be an investment. You would walk into that interview confident. Confident. And poised. Poised. The woman with the cowhide bag.

Good, bad or indifferent, I got my purse and I couldn’t be more pleased.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

