Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Julie & Julia – thoughts & comments

Because “Julie & Julia” was one of the inspirations which got me going on this blog, I’ll start there and just jump around as things begin to arrive in the mail. The more I watch this movie the more I like it. If anyone had told me that I would find the life of Julia Child compelling, I would have laughed in their face, but watching Julia cast about for a purpose and her sweet relationship with her husband were more than enough to keep me glued to my seat as I watched this movie. What is really the most remarkable thing is Meryl Streep’s transformation into Julia. It is truly amazing to me how completely she morphs into who she needs to be for her role. She is absolutely magical in her ability to become her character.

One of the main things I thought was very cool about this movie is the dynamics of the marriages and how the husbands both dealt with encouraging their wives as the worked towards their goals. Julia and Paul were particularly loving to each other. Stanley Tucci mentions this in one of the interviews I’m attaching. He also points out that most movies portray marriages in trouble or where one of the partners is dying. It’s true – Hollywood has shown us a ton of unhappiness & ugliness which makes this movie all the more special simply because it shows a marriage working. I personally loved that Paul was 100% behind any idea Julia had whether he thought it was reasonable or not. That’s a rare quality in a man so if you’ve got one of those in your life, hold onto him!

Here are some wonderful interviews I found on YouTube which give you a wonderful behind the scenes look at what the actors thought of the film:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ifk4MgoZZhA interview Nora Ephron, Meryl Streep & Stanley Tucci

“The Lovely Bones” Tucci interview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-135y-YnxM&feature=related

French interview with Meryl & Stanley http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wtJ3kqf2GY

Meryl & Stanly worked together in “The Devil Wears Prada” and I get the impression that they enjoy working together and admire each other’s work. I’m looking forward to seeing “The Lovely Bones” which Tucci worked on before “Julie & Julia”. I read the book and was lukewarm about it, but I’ve heard good things about the movie. More on that later. We’re doing Meryl right now!

Two questions I had after watching this movie:

Paul Child’s turquoise ring: It is an unusual thing to see such a piece of jewelry on a man in a movie. Was there significance to it? Did Paul really wear a similar ring or was this simply a way to show Paul’s worldliness in the movie? Maybe someone in costuming was simply inspired. I don’t know, but I’d love to find out.

Why were the two French women who Julia wound up collaborating with at the embassy function? Were they somehow connected to the event by their husbands? Obviously non-Americans would have been invited to such an event, but only because they were connected to the embassy or politics in some way. Those in the know about protocol are encouraged to provide input.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

