Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

100% Inspiration 0% Perspiration

Well, playing with my small cardboard box project was pretty fun and I didn’t find dealing with the paint difficult at all (other than getting it to come out of the tube properly). I knew about double loading the brush (getting 2 different colors on the brush) from stuff I’d seen on public television and conversations I’d had with my mom when she was taking toll painting (I always think troll painting in my head) classes with her friends. Follow the link for cardboard experiment: http://www.flickr.com/photos/46746332@N04/4289632342/

Box Experiment #1

Box Experiment #2

My 10 year old daughter was very interested in what I was up to so I guess tomorrow I’m going to be running over to Michael’s (40%off coupon in hand) to get her a smaller canvas to work on while I try to recreate the wild abandon of a five-year-old on my own canvas. While reading about Marla the other day, I noticed her birth year and she’s 10 right now too. I wonder if she remembers her trips to New York for gallery openings? Regardless of the fallout following the 60 Minutes implosion, the Olmsteads must have some pretty cool memories of their travels when Marla’s work was so sought after.

Anyway, tomorrow I’ll most likely help her get set up and play with paint some more before finally getting down to starting my project. I realize I’m dragging my feet. I keep looking over Marla’s art to see if I can take in all the elements of her work and the different ways she applied paint. That’s the beautiful thing about being a kid – you can be absolutely fearless about everything you create, because when it all comes down to it, the only person you’re creating for is yourself. Adults get caught up in the thinking aspect which can really throw a wrench into what is supposed to be enjoyable. I will try not to do that. I will just let the project unfold on its own and if I hate it, I’ll just start over again. I will be fearless.

I wonder if artists ever suffer from blocks the way writers do? And if they do, I wonder what it’s called? Painter’s block? I suppose everyone gets stuck for inspiration once in a while. I suppose all one can do when faced with a blank canvas is to go out into the world and look for something inspiring. I remember a book my father had when I was a child which illustrated the different levels of hell. I found it to be terribly gruesome, but somehow compelling to examine all the different sorts of tortures and evil creatures depicted in the pages of his book. It is difficult to imagine how one gets up every day to create something so ghastly, but perhaps the weight of his religious convictions stirred him on to save people by literally scaring the hell out of them.

I have a small cut out image from a calendar of “The Kiss” by Gustav Klimt displayed on my bookshelf and read that his main subject and inspiration was his lover who he seems to have been obsessed with. I suppose that if she was really into being worshipped, they probably had a very good relationship. I’m sure it was a much more healthy connection than Van Gogh had with his lady friend. Rules to live by: Body parts do not make good presents. Do you suppose he saw the irony in the situation when he painted himself sans ear or was he just being literal? He doesn’t strike me as a fellow with a sense of humor.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

