Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Perspective – It’s all in how you look at things

Day 2 – Okay, well it’s been a long time since I’ve messed with acrylic paint from a tube. I’ve had a whole lot of recent experience with canned latex seeing as how the house I live in came covered in wallpaper and I’ve spent a lot of hours peeling off the vinyl layer(s), backing and sizing before mudding and priming. Two coats of satin later, the job was complete. I don’t know what the previous owners thought was so awesome about wall coverings. I’ll never hang wallpaper after what I’ve had to deal with getting it off.

Wow, I digressed there. Anyway, the only time I ever played with what I call artist’s acrylic was back in the 80’s when I thought paint splattered jeans looked really cool and I decided to try to make my own. Long story short, I was not happy with the gloppy results and threw everything away before moving on to something else. I feel like I should reintroduce myself to the medium before taking on my huge canvas (I never do anything small – gotta take on the biggest project I can get my hands on) so I found a cardboard box to paint black and tonight I’m going to just play with colors and blending and texture so that I can face the canvas with a better feel for the paint. I’ll post the pics on yahoo and attach a link to my next posting.

Back to Critics & Experts – Art is one of those subjective topics which is as slippery as legal jargon when it comes to defining just what it is (is that a pile of garbage or is that a sculpture?) Classifying whether it’s worthy of critical acclaim is an on-going argument which has lasted for centuries. Each new generation of artists has had to battle for their style to be accepted as valid. Some died before their work was deemed worthy of recognition.

The fact of the matter is that art is personal. Everybody has their personal taste. You like what you like depending upon your individuality and what you’ve been exposed to in your life. Maybe you’ve got a Velvet Elvis Painting hanging in your living room and you love it. When you come home in the evening after a hard day of work, the blue sheen which accents his dark locks and those full lips contrasting against the dark fabric fill your chest with warmth. That full studded collar framing The King’s emotion-filled face brings to mind how his music liberated and uplifted a whole generation; even changed the world. You lose yourself for a magical moment in his greatness. You love your painting.

Then one day, you decide to have a cookout at your home and invite some folks from work. You buy the food, clean and vacuum and make sure The King is dust free. You are ready for your guests. What you’re not expecting is their reaction to your piece of art. People laugh and joke as they come upon your velvet masterpiece. You are repeatedly ribbed about your choice of decoration. No one shares your appreciation of it. Your painting becomes the lingering water cooler story at your office long after the day of your party.

Now when you come home from work, Elvis gives you no joy. He is just a bitter reminder of the teasing you have been forced to endure. Finally, you go to the local art & framing shop and find something similar to the geometric print in your boss’s office and hang it on your living room wall. Elvis goes into the dumpster. The new print doesn’t make you feel the same way that the velvet one did, but you decide that the new art will be better received the next time you entertain.

You, my friend, have had a change of perspective.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

