Paula-Loves-Marla's Blog

Observations about Art, Movies, Books, etc.

Art for Art’s Sake – It all started with Marla Olmstead

Well, actually I’ve always loved art – all kinds of art. But it seems I have no natural ability of my own. I don’t paint or decorate or have any hobbies to speak of other than collecting things. I couldn’t draw my way out of a paper bag and it makes me crazy! All I’ve ever wanted to do is do something creative!

And then I happened across the independent film “My Kid Could Paint That” and I found inspiration.  The movie filmed and directed by Amir Bar-Lev documents the rapid rise and fall of young Marla Olmstead’s artistic career and showcases pieces of her work which she created during the years when she was four and five. There was a great deal of controversy surrounding Marla’s work and the fabulous prices her paintings brought. My only thought was that I loved them. I loved  the unbridled bold colors; the scrawls and daubs; the balance amid the chaos.

I went on line to see if Marla paintings were still available and much to my surprise and delight, there is a gallery which still sells her work. Even better, my favorite painting is still for sale, though I am not in a position to buy it. So I started to think “Maybe I can make one myself. Seriously, how hard could it be? She was a four year old and you’re … somewhat older than four. You can do this.” So I find myself six months after watching the movie in possession of a large blank canvas, a variety of acrylic paints (bought painstakingly one at a time at Michael’s using 40% off coupons) and a set of brushes, small rollers and a putty knife.

Now I begin my own creative odyssey. My opponent is the blank canvas and my guide is Marla. I plan to post daily the progress I have made on my project and I will post pictures as soon as I figure out how to do this. I’d also like to discuss art in general and my observations and thoughts as a casual observer of the art world. I hope you will follow along with me on this journey and add your own comments and thoughts to what I have written.

Best wishes,

Paula

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

